Moroccan Chicken We Love

OK gang for all of you who requested the recipe for the Moroccan Chicken here it is.  Enjoy!

Moroccan Chicken Thighs Recipe

Ingredients

1/2 teaspoon brown sugar

1/2 teaspoon ground coriander

1/2 teaspoon ground cumin

1/2 teaspoon paprika

1/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon

1/8 teaspoon garlic powder

1/8 teaspoon salt

1/8 teaspoon pepper

2 teaspoons all-purpose flour

4 bone-in chicken thighs (about 1-1/2 pounds), skin removed

1-1/2 teaspoons olive oil

SAUCE:

3 shallots, chopped

1/2 cup plus 2 tablespoons reduced-sodium chicken broth, divided

4 pitted dates, chopped

1 teaspoon all-purpose flour

1-1/2 teaspoons minced fresh cilantro

COUSCOUS:

1/4 cup water

3 tablespoons reduced-sodium chicken broth

1/8 teaspoon salt

Dash ground cumin

1/3 cup uncooked couscous

1-1/2 teaspoons slivered almonds, toasted

Directions

In a small bowl, combine the first eight ingredients. Set aside 1 teaspoon spice mixture; add flour to remaining mixture and sprinkle over chicken.

In a large nonstick skillet coated with cooking spray, brown chicken in oil on both sides. Remove and keep warm. Add shallots to the pan; cook and stir over medium heat for 3 minutes. Stir in 1/2 cup broth and dates. Bring to a boil. Reduce heat; return chicken to the pan.

Cover and simmer for 20-25 minutes or until chicken juices run clear. Remove chicken and keep warm. Combine flour with reserved spice mixture and remaining broth until smooth; gradually stir into the pan. Bring to a boil; cook and stir for 2 minutes or until thickened. Stir in cilantro.

My Variation:  While the chicken is simmering I toss in about three diced sweet potatoes, and if I have them I put in some sweet peas.

For couscous, in a small saucepan, bring the water, broth, salt and cumin to a boil. Stir in couscous. Cover and remove from the heat; let stand for 5-10 minutes or until water is absorbed. Fluff with a fork, then stir in almonds. Serve with chicken and sauce. Yield: 2 servings.

Notes:  I double the spice mixture, and I use at least six thighs, and I toss in some golden raisins.  It all depends on how many I’m feeding.

I must confess I can’t claim this recipe as my own creation, I found it on Taste of Home website, but it has become a real favorite at our house.  Let me know if you try this recipe and how you like it.  I have a great recipe using beef as well.

6 Responses to “Moroccan Chicken We Love”

  1. I’ve saved it and will be trying it after my next grocery run.

  2. It was too good, tonight she’s making Keemah, I’m too lucky..:-))

  3. Yum! Thanks for posting! I want to try this. (and what is Keemah??–we have a Kemah here but it is a city near Galveston! LOL!)

    I think we may have to make the recipe idea a regular. Maybe we can make “Munchy Mondays”! : ) I am enjoying all the recipes from everyone as I get so tired of always fixing the same things.

    Thanks for posting!!

    Jen

  4. SO glad you posted this! And I just HAPPEN to have some chicken in the freezer this week. Guess what I’ll be doing with it?!

  5. Wow, great recipie can’t wait to try it!

  6. **recipe** hopefully I can cook better then I can spell!

Leave a Reply

