Sunday Stills Challenge – Favorite Places

I have several “favorite places” mostly close to home.  One of my alltime favorite places to visit is the Southwest.  We actually wanted to live in New Mexico, but ended up living in Tucson, Az. for a little over a year.  I haven’t gotten to travel to very far from home in my life, so I’d say anyplace that’s home and family is my place of peace and relaxation.  Here are a few shots of places I love to be.

The Tellico River, just a stones throw from our house.

Bald River Falls, where the Bald River empties into the Tellico River.  I love the sounds of the water roaring over the rock and feeling the spray in my face.

Tellico Grains Bakery in our little town of Tellico Plains, Tn.  Folks actually drive all the way from N. Carolina to this bakery for their wonderful breads and pastries,  and brick-oven pizzas on Saturdays.

A scene from Cades Cove, Tn.  I love this beautiful spot in the Great Smoky Mountains.  If you can look past all the tourists and imagine living in this wonderful place, you could find peace and quiet.

When we lived in Texas we took our annual Blue Bonnet road trips every Spring.  They would bloom around our anniversary, so it made for a special day, visiting the fields of blue bonnets.

I know this shot looks strange, but it is one of our favorite Chinese restaurants, one of three that we frequent on a regular basis.  How can you not find peace and relaxation eating a favorite food. 🙂

15 Responses to “Sunday Stills Challenge – Favorite Places”

  1. I just love that cabin scene! Yes, I could imagine being there alone. Your area is a piece of heaven. We love chinese too! :-)))

  2. I love all your scenery, so tranquil.

  3. That’s great that you’ve got a river so close that you can visit it any time.

  4. Very nice. I was looking forward to seeing yours, I love your area and you didn’t disappoint. It is really peaceful just looking at your pics …..even from here.

  5. I love your places……especially the creek and anyplace with good Chinese food.

  6. Well, now I have some new favorite places…….great shots.

  7. Thanks for checking out my pics! Love the cabin one also! Not sure where that is but have been to TN quite a few times in and around Knoxville. Lovely area!

  8. Beautiful places!

  9. I loved seeing your favorite places, Dianne. Thanks!

  10. Your pictures are wonderful. You are quite lucky to have such beautiful places near your home.

  11. What a coincidence, those are some of my favorite places too, great minds do think alike..:-))

  12. The Cades Cove photo was my favorite but only because I’m totally jealous you live so close to such a lovely river!

  13. If I die,
    lay me on the blue flowers,
    My spirit will be a happy one.

  14. how lovely!

Leave a Reply

