Sunday Stills Challenge – Fall Color

Fall color is a really big thing here in East Tennessee.  The trick is to catch it at just the right time.  Friday my DH and I drove up into the Smokies so I could get some good shots for todays challenge.  The weather guy on the news had been telling us that the color was peaking in the Smokies so we thought this would be a nice get-away and a chance for me to take pictures.  Boy, were we ever disappointed!  Hardly any color at all.  And, the traffic was horendous.  I was so dissapointed.  So, yesterday we took a drive up the River Rd. to the waterfall.  Now this is close to home, maybe 15 minutes!  It was a beautiful drive, with brilliant color.  Since we’ve had very little rain in more than a month the river and waterfall was running dry.  I hope you enjoy the color of the leaves in these shots.

After the terribly hot summer we all had I hope you are enjoying the cooler weather, and the beautiful Fall color.  See ya next week.

15 Responses to “Sunday Stills Challenge – Fall Color”

  1. Fantastic shots mom, the first one is a spectacular shot..:-)

  2. That first shot is amazing!

  3. Beautiful colour! The second shot reminds me of walks in the woods and the smell of fall- lovely!

  4. Beautiful! Now, that’s the kind of color I remember in Maryland. Just breathtaking. Your water shot is awesome!

  5. I spent a couple of weeks in and around Chattanooga once summer when I was a teenager, and I was so impressed with all the woods and lack of traffic. I guess people are just everywhere now creating traffic jams. However, it looks like you found a sweet spot in the end.

  6. Sometimes the best scenes are close to home. These are so beautiful! I wish we have this kind of foliage right in our backyard.

    Fantastic shots!

  7. What can I say that hasn’t been said already,how about Awesome. I am always floored when you and Ed show scenery shots of your area. I don’t think I have ever seen a place more spectacular.

  8. WOW !!! the colors are wonderful.

  9. I like the last photo, it looks like our Ivy in Autumn.

    Did you make Ed sweep up the fallen leaves?

  10. You have such a wide variety of fall color back there! I loved each of your photos!

  11. Beautiful shots…I think we are ahead of you up here in New York. Many of our leaves are now dropping. Yes, you sure do live in beautiful country!

  12. beautiful fall colours diane

  13. Gorgeous and close to home too!

  14. Well done, I do like the second photo the best! 🙂

  15. Beautiful colors!!!!! The first ‘n second shots are my fav…wonderful!

Leave a Reply

