Paper Potter – How it Works

I’ve had several inquiries as to how the “paper potter” works, so I thought I’d post a few pictures showing the process.
I’ll use these little pots to start my veggies, then place them directly into my garden, pot and all.

First you need the super woodturned form for the paper pots;

Then you take about 3 strips of newspaper and wrap it tightly about the potter extending the paper about 1/2″ -3/4″past the bottom;

Fold the extended paper into the bottom of the potter;

Next, take the paper wrapped potter and press it into the base to form a solid bottom to your pot.

This is how it should look, you don’t want any holes in the bottom.

Waaala!! You have a cute little paper pot for your veggie starts.
I take a tiny dab of Elmer’s glue to secure the lose edge.
Pretty cute don’t ya think?

6 Responses to “Paper Potter – How it Works”

  1. I bet I can guess who made your paper potter 😉 I have a greenhouse friend that has used one of these for years.

  2. It’s ingenious!!! If I did a bigger garden and started plants from seeds, I’d be getting on of those…very economical and easy! Thanks for showing us the process. Happy gardening!

  3. These are great!!! Are they for sale?

  4. Very cool!!! I’ve never seen one before.

  5. This is beautiful, as an object, and very practical as well. I love it when art is practical.

  6. I am finally getting to use my potter today. I’ve been sick as a dog. Had to check back to make sure I knew what I was doing. It’s pretty complicated ;-).

Leave a Reply

